30 in 30: Day 07 (in which I talk about those tricksy MFWs)

Standard

Least favorite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise

I honestly can’t think of a plot device employed by “way” too many books that I otherwise enjoyed, so I’ll just go with one that seems pretty common with, I don’t know, all the genres I’m into (not just books).

MAGICAL FUCKING WEAPONS!

The main characters aren’t powerful all by themselves, you see. They have to have a magical fucking weapon in order to get the job done. This is a very common plot device, not only in fantasy, but also in anime and manga and other shit I read or watch. Hells, sometimes it’s not magical but super-advanced science…which is magic, by the way.

COME AND GET YOUR MAGICAL FUCKING WEAPONS!

Rhapsody has her Daystar Clarion, a sword forged from a star. Ashe from the same series has a sword whose name I can’t remember that allows the user to breath underwater (much like my BOP Hydrocane in WoW). Many animes or mangas have some sort of magical fucking weapon (MOON PRINCESS ELIMINATION). Arthas has Frostmourne (hells, that magical weapon is like, the whole POINT of the story!).  Gaius Baltar has his cock that makes women’s spines glow red (now THERE’S a magical fucking weapon, eh?).

Even I have used this plot device (magical weapons, not Baltar’s cock). I have a magical weapon that doesn’t like to be touched by any save his mistress. Kind of kinky, I’m not going to lie.

So next time you pick up a book, take a look around for that MFW. It may be in the corner, hiding, not wanting you to see it…or it may be taking its clothing off and prancing down the street screaming “LOOK AT ME, I’M A MAGICAL FUCKING WEAPON! WOOOOOOOOOO! RUMSPRINGA!!”

2 thoughts on “30 in 30: Day 07 (in which I talk about those tricksy MFWs)

Comments are closed.