New treasures can be found everyday if you’re willing to take the time to look

Standard

As you may or may not know, I am always on the lookout for other writers of fantasy, especially of either the feminist or woman-identified variety (or both).

When I was voting on NPR Book’s Top 100 Science-Fiction, Fantasy Titles (which is a flawed list but that’s beside the point), I saw “The Inheritance Trilogy” by an N. K. Jemisin.

Now, the only Inheritance anything I’d ever heard of was that abomination by Paolini, so I was intrigued enough to do a Google search. I found her blog almost immediately, and after reading through a few posts and the first chapter of her book, my vote was sold.

Nora’s writing is so incredible I have to wonder why I’ve never heard of her till now. I hope it’s only her relative newness that’s caused this — she definitely deserves to be talked about well and often.

If you’re so inclined, I recommend taking a look at the first few chapters of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. I have, and I’ll be searching for it at the library when I next have a chance.

