30 in 30: Day 24 (A quote? how the hells am I supposed to choose just ONE?)

Standard
Coat of arms of Hogwarts, the fictional school...

Image via Wikipedia

Best quote from a novel

Oh my goddess, we have so many contenders for this post. I simply can’t list just one, unless I wanted to be funny. Contrary to my usual nature, I wish to share quotes that actually mean something to me.

So, from the very talented Jacqueline Carey and her quite astounding literary masterpiece, Kushiel‘s Legacy, my favourite quotes from the Phedre Trilogy.

We are all of these things […]. Pride, desire, compassion, cleverness, belligerence, fruitfulness, loyalty…and guilt. But above it all stands love. And if we desire to be more than human, that is the star by which we must set our sights.

Kushiel’s Avatar

We pay for sins we do not remember, and seek to do a will we can scarce fathom. That is what it is, to be a god’s chosen.

Kushiel’s Avatar

It’s the same questions we ask of our existence, and the answer is always the same. The mystery lies not in the question nor the answer, but in the asking and answering themselves, over and over again, and the end is engendered in the beginning.

Kushiel’s Avatar

All knowledge is worth having.

Kushiel’s Dart

That which yields is not always weak.

Kushiel’s Dart

See what I mean when I say I can’t just choose one?

And I’m not even finished!

Now, a few of my favourite quotes from JK Rowling‘s Harry Potter series. (Mostly Dumbledore; that man rocks the casbah.)

To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

It is our choices […] that show us who we truly are, far more than our abilities.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Fear of the Name increases fear of the thing itself.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

The mind is not a book, to be opened at will and examined at leisure. Thoughts are not etched on the inside of skulls, to be perused by an invader. The mind is a complex and many-layered thing.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

There’s another quote, about making the choice between what is right and what is  easy, but I can only find the one from the film and I don’t have my books handy.

So, there you go. A bunch of quotes to live by. Enjoy!

