30 in 30: Day 26 (please don’t do this, future authors)

Standard
I Have Stuck With Harry Until the Very End

Image by Thalita Carvalho ϟ via Flickr

OMG WTF? OR most irritating/awful/annoying book ending

The Epilogue, Harry Potter.

JK Rowling said (somewhere; I don’t have a quote) she wrote the epilogue before she wrote the rest of the series.

It shows.

The ending of the book was really satisfying. And then you read “Nineteen years later…” and your entire evening is ruined. It’s so trite, so contrived, so fanfic-ish — wait, that’s unfair to fanfic writers, because I’m pretty sure most of them could have written a much better epilogue.

Where was the rebuilding of the Wizard World after the fall of Voldemort? Where was the extreme PTSD the Golden Trio must be suffering? Where was the real, gritty storyline?

Instead we get ALBUS SEVERUS ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME.

It was such a disservice to the characters, to just make everything happily ever after and so normal. After an adolescence like that, Harry, Ron, and Hermione’s lives would never be any sort of normal again.

Give me an epilogue where Harry has a drinking problem and Hermione doesn’t read anymore, where Ron is suddenly responsible because his wife has gone off the deep end and someone has got to keep things together. Neville is a chronic pot smoker because herbology has to come in handy in some way, Ginny has said “fuck you” to Harry’s bullshit but we all know she flies Quidditch that hard so she can forget everything, being dangerous on the field because it’s much better than trying to take care of herself — how can she, when her family members and friends are dead?

That’s much more believable.

(Don’t get me wrong, I love the series and it means a lot to me. But I wouldn’t be a real fan if I couldn’t look at its flaws and talk about them without evasion.)

4 thoughts on “30 in 30: Day 26 (please don’t do this, future authors)

    • Katje

      Oh, I’d love to! Unfortunately I’m crap at fanfic. I always end up turning it into my own thing with someone else’s characters, and they’re inevitably out of character…so I just write my own stuff. It’s easier.

      Like

  1. lorri vallese

    You are most entitled to your opinion but, if you think about this series it was written as a children’s series. Even we as adults enjoyed reading them, it is nice for a more positive ending.

    Like

    • Katje

      That’s kind of insulting to children’s intelligence, honestly. I mean, if they can’t handle a less happy epilogue then maybe they’re too young to be reading the series in the first place. The series is full of dark stuff.

      But my main complaint is that it’s badly written and disrespectful to the characters (and it insults the reader’s intelligence). It shows that JKR wrote it before the rest of the series — her writing grew throughout the books and then the epilogue was a blast from the past in a bad way. She could have at least re-written it to match the style and flow of the rest of the series.

      Like

Comments are closed.