Friday Five, August 26th: Books I Think You Should Pick Up (And Read, Obviously).

Standard
Cover of

Cover of Through Wolf’s Eyes (Wolf, Book 1)

  1. Bitten, by Kelley Armstrong. Book #1 of the Women of the Otherworld series. It may get classified as “fluff” or “paranormal romance” but I disagree. I classify it as “Urban Fantasy”. Yes, there’s romance, but jesus h. christ just because the main character is female and she gets some tail (literally, she’s a werewolf) does not make it chick lit or fluff or a romance book. For fuck’s sake.
    Right. Canadian werewolf Elena (so alternatively polite and ragey) has to make the choice between Pack life or pretending to be something she’s not. The rest of the series is worth a read too (though I’m not quite finished; I’ve read up to No Humans Involved and there’s a whole bunch after that, but I plan on catching up at some point).
  2. Glenraven, by Marion Zimmer Bradley and Holly Lisle. I’ve blogged about this book before and how much I love it, and apparently I have read something by Holly Lisle — I just keep forgetting because my brain has classified Glenraven as an MZB book. My bad. (Apologies to Holly Lisle.) Anyway, really good book. Adventure, strange new worlds, romance, magic, best friends…you can’t go wrong, really.
  3. Rhapsody: Child of Blood, by Elizabeth Haydon.  The first in what is supposed to be an 8-book series, though only 6 books are out at this point (no word on the 7th, either, which is depressing). Regardless, it’s worth it to read at least the first trilogy (Rhapsody, Prophecy, and Destiny), if not the bridge (Requiem for the Sun and Elegy for a Lost Star) and the first of the final trilogy (The Assassin King). It’s not that the bridge and sixth book aren’t good — they are, and that’s the problem. There are two more books coming out and they leave you hanging. But you can read the first trilogy by itself and be satisfied; I was until the other books came out.
  4. Stormqueen! by Marion Zimmer Bradley. A standalone novel in the Darkover series, set during the Ages of Chaos. Dorilys Aldaran is the stormqueen, able to call forth devastating lightning and storms from a small age. MZB was a very talented writer though I think her Darkover works get overlooked in favor of The Mists of Avalon. Both are excellent, but one gets more press. So here I am giving Darkover some press.
  5. Through Wolf’s Eyes, by Jane Lindskold. This entire series is very good. Firekeeper is a different sort of heroine and Lindskold’s knowledge of wolves is exemplary. The series is done and I recommend checking it out: 1) Through Wolf’s Eyes, 2) Wolf’s Head, Wolf’s Heart, 3) The Dragon of Despair, 4) Wolf Captured, 5) Wolf Hunting, 6) Wolf’s Blood.

 

