SFFSat: Cross-dressing in Athering!

Standard

After bumping into her in the hallway, Chief Medical Officer Jules asks Healer Ghia what her plans are for Midwinter Eve.

“I’m working at the Cauldron.”

He sucked in his breath sharply, making a sympathetic face. “I do not envy you.”

She gave a bark of laughter. “Please, Jules–we all know you secretly wish you were a short nineteen-year-old woman,” she said, merriment in her eyes as she teased him.

Jules made a moue of astonishment as he held his hand up by his chest. “My secret is out! However will I live now, so malcontented being my old, tall, male self?”

She put her hands on her hips and gave him a once-over. “I’d lend you some of my clothing, but I doubt it would fit.”

From Chapter 2 of Bellica.

 

(For more great SFFSat entries, go here.)

13 thoughts on “SFFSat: Cross-dressing in Athering!

    • Katje

      Yay!

      The entire novel is quite dark, so I try and inject as much humour as possible in these little moments. Jules and Ghia are great for that with their bickering friendship.

      Like

Comments are closed.