Friday Five: Five Banned (or challenged!) Books, in no particular order

Standard
Banned Books #4

Image by ellen.w via Flickr

I am only listing books I have actually read in this list. For a bigger list of banned or challenged books, I recommend checking out the ALA’s website. It’s probably impossible to get a comprehensive list, but they do a good job nonetheless.

  1. 1984, by George Orwell. A novel about a dystopian future, so naturally I love it. I read this when I was 15 — by choice, because I wanted to read it. The counselor at Band Camp thought that was really effed up. Not her choice of words, but I’m able to read between the lines. She said “Please tell me you’re reading that because you’re required to read it for school.” I said, “No, I’m reading it because I want to.” She shook her head and made a comment about how messed up that was.
    Because 15 is too young to read about dystopian futures. Obviously.
    Anyway. I digress.
  2. The Golden Compass, by Phillip Pullman. The entire His Dark Materials trilogy has been challenged, actually, but I’ve only read 2/3 of it. Have yet to pick up the final book. It’s a dark book, definitely. Not as light as the movie makes you think it is. However, it gives you hope: the main character is a young girl who survives some really harsh stuff, against all odds, and continues on with courage.
    I read this around the time it came out in the States.
  3. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley. What can I say? I have a thing for dystopian futures (probably because I’m pretty convinced we’re headed for one). I read this one when I was 16 or 17, at Fat Camp. (I went to a lot of camps.) I remembered thinking I wouldn’t mind being engineered from conception to be perfect. Many parts of it I found absolutely hilarious, and some parts I found pretty creepy. It’s a good read. I suggest it.
    (Coincidentally, my purchase of this book also coincides with the first incidence of a boy flirting with me. Ever. I was terrified and didn’t know what to do, so I made my purchase quickly and fled the Waldenbooks and the cute boy behind the counter.)
    Also, it’s strangely appropriate to be reading a novel of a dystopian future at a camp where they don’t let you handle your own money and your packages from home are checked for food.
  4. Harry Potter (series), by JK Rowling. Yeah, that was obvious.
  5. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker. Don’t watch the film. Read the book. The adaptation to cinema is really bad.

Also, here is a list of 5 banned books turned film, complete with trailers for said films. (I have yet to see The Handmaid’s Tale, which is the only one of those books I’ve read, but I do want to.)

So I guess that makes it Friday Ten? Whatever. Happy reading! See you tomorrow for SFFSat, and Monday for another random rant.

 

