SFFSat: Drunken confessions from Bellica

Standard

Today’s entry is a conversation snippet between Bellica Yarrow and Major Caelum from Bellica. Yarrow is the Empress’s best bellica, and yet she feels herself descending into madness: she committed a crime she has no memory of committing. After a night of drinking, she confesses her actions to her second, Caelum, and his reaction surprises her…

“What do you suggest I do, Caelum? I’ll never run, I’ll never throw myself upon the parsimonious mercy my sister may grant, and I’ll never take my own life. I’m pretty much out of choices here.” She raised her eyebrows at him.
His shrug was infinitesimal. “You could give someone else up in your place.”
She almost laughed at his suggestion. “And what poor fool would I send to the gallows?”
His look was direct, his eyes burning into hers. “Me.”

Be sure to check out other talented SFFSat participants HERE!

 

15 thoughts on “SFFSat: Drunken confessions from Bellica

  1. Thank you everyone! And since y'all are so eager to see what happens next, I'll post it as this coming Saturday's snippet. 🙂 I don't promise to reveal everything, however… 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.