Happy International Women’s Day!

Standard

Today, March 8th, is International Women’s Day. This is a day for acknowledging the contributions of women to the world, and for honoring the women in your life. (Protip: Instead of giving flowers because you think it’s expected, try asking the women in your life what they’d like. Also, how awesome is it that a day dedicated to honoring women’s contributions has been turned into another flowery gender-role stifled holiday? SO awesome.)

Even a genderqueer individual like myself can enjoy and promote IWD, and ask people to focus on women’s voices. Because I understand that in the fight against sexism it’s important to centre women’s voices, and that’s part of what IWD is about. (Before any of you closet-MRAs say “Well why don’t we have an international men’s day? Whinge whinge whine,” let me remind you that every day is international men’s day. Welcome to kyriarchy; enjoy your stay, try to damage the furniture. Oh, also, you have it, so shut the fuck up.)

I hope that someday there will be an international non-binary folk day, but until that day allow me to celebrate with the gender I used to ID as.

Today I will be doing a presentation on Suzan-Lori Parks, the first African-American woman to win a Pulitzer Prize in Drama for her broadway play Topdog/Underdog. She’s also written, among other plays, Ray Charles Live!, The Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World, and Venus, a play about Saartjie Baartman. Parks is pretty amazing; you should go read about her.

As well, today Kaimana Wolff and I are having a double-promotion of our novels on Kindle. Both books deal with strong women characters, and we’re both independent authors — so even if you’re participating in Black March there’s no moral imperative against downloading a copy of both Bellica and La Chiripa for free. (Black March aims at hitting Big Media in their pocketbooks. Independent artists and authors are separate from Big Media.)

Click Here to download Bellica for free (normally 7.99 USD).

Click Here to download La Chiripa for free (normally 9.99 USD).

Finally, I’d like to acknowledge my grandmother: Tine was a nurse during World War II, and while her fiance spent most of the war in a Nazi prison for being in the Underground, she worked in a hospital that had half Ally, half Axis soldiers in it so it wouldn’t get bombed by either side. She used to tell me that the doctors would just give the German soldiers saline instead of actually helping them, and that she always found that wrong: she treated them all equally. When I was growing up, she taught me to knit, and it was her fiery nature that inspired my own. Tine was a remarkable woman, and I miss her every day.

To you, Oma.

