The Unorthodox Hat

Standard

I’m making a hat. I’m knitting a hat.

It’s my first, so kind of a big deal. Firsts in knitting are always big, even if they’re not that complex. Same for crochet.

But I’m not a patterns person. It’s nigh impossible for me to follow a knitting pattern and stick to it. I like making things up. I like improvising. I detest making gauge swatches. (I know. Bad Katje.)

I bought this gorgeous purple merino yarn a while ago, with the intent to make a hat from it. But I couldn’t find a pattern I liked. I couldn’t find a pattern that held my attention long enough. The yarn sat unused in a box. I tried to make something else out of it, and quickly became bored with that project and frogged it.

On Thursday, I had an inspiration.

I figured out how to knit a hat without having to make a gauge swatch.

Knit it from the top down.

6. I'm thankful for... #knitting #fmsphotoaday

So I cast on 12 stitches to three needles, and started knitting, increasing every other round. When I got to 60 stitches I added a needle. I think it looks pretty good so far.

Of course, if you don’t want a circle in the top of your hat, you’ll have to cast on three stitches, probably. It’ll be a bit more difficult.

But it’s worth it to avoid the gauge swatch, in my totally-not-humble-at-all opinion. (Also, you could theoretically cover the little hole at the top with a pom-pom, or something. I personally want a hole in the top of my hat so I can have a place for the extra crazy to escape from my brain.)

I’ll post more pictures when it’s done. I may actually have a knit hat that I made to wear this fall and winter.

2 thoughts on “The Unorthodox Hat

  1. Any first is important! Like, last week I tried snap peas for the first time and I’m gonna throw a fucking party.
    Congrats on the hat! The aliens might abduct you through that hole though.

    Like

    • Katje

      That’s okay; if they do I’ll have more to write about.

      Congrats on the snap peas achievement! You definitely should throw one hell of a party. Snap peas are awesome.

      Like

Comments are closed.