Post-Partum Depression and Names

Standard

I finished The Jade Star of Athering on the 6th. And immediately went through post-partum depression. First time it’s happened after finishing a book. Third time’s the charm?

I’m not really sure. I do know I’m still heavily invested in some of the characters in The Jade Star, and I have enough material on them to do two more books (set at the same time) thanks to plot points I set up in Jade Star. That, and my obsession with making two of those characters bone fall in luuuurrrrvvveeee, could be contributing. I just want to dive back in. I had to stop myself from starting novel #3 in the Bellica series yesterday.

Yes, stop myself. Why? Because I’ve got another book to write come April, and another to start in July. Before I can start anything, I need to revise current first drafts. It’s called discipline.

(Discipline doesn’t mean I can’t start plotting now, however, and that’s just what I’m going to do. A planned novel? SAY WHAT? Well I’ve been known to do that from time to time once. I can do it again.)

Anyway. The depression has been odd and I’ve been having a bit of trouble coping. I’m hoping it’ll fade soon so I can get some more work done.

There was some waffling on names for Stranger Skies. You can read about that at my LiveJournal. I ended up deciding to keep the name Stranger Skies, because I frackin’ love it, and ended up discovering the name of the series. While in the shower, natch; all my best ideas come when I’m cleaning myself. I’m sure there’s a metaphor there.

The Borderlands Saga may not make much sense to you now. But trust me, it’s integral to the overall plot of the series.

This, of course, gives me the freedom to choose a different name from Wolf’s Rise for the second book, and I’ve settled on a working title of From the Ashes. That book gets started in April, for Camp Nano. My goal for April is 750 words/day, which equals 22,500 for the month. Read: how to set yourself up for success during Camp Nano. (And if anyone wants to buy me these merit badges I would love you forever.)

I also plan on participating in Camp Nano in July. Whether I write Book 3 of Borderlands (tentatively named The Moonrunner) or one of the books set after Jade Star remains to be seen. And, of course, normal-Nano in November. Months in between will be dedicated to finishing/tweaking/revising/betaing.

It’s my hope that by the end of this year you will be able to get not only The Jade Star of Athering for your e-reader, but also Stranger Skies

This, of course, means that I will not be blogging here as often (rambling at LiveJournal? Maybe; that blog is basically pure word-vomit). I’m going to try to keep to a schedule of twice a week.

So I’ll see you next week.

Important: On the 11th, I’m hosting Rosanne Rivers on a blog tour for her new release, After the Fear. Be sure to come back here for an excerpt and a chance to win a copy of her book.

