In other news, I hate leafblowers

Standard

You may notice some changes around here. Try not to panic. I’m just re-vamping my brand.

Ok, you know I hate “author brand” stuff. Mainly because I feel I can never settle on anything. Well, I was feeling the need to change up the blog for a while. Bacon and Whiskey wasn’t what I was writing about, so it had no discernible link to, well, anything.

Mom and I were talking last night about everything marketing, in this particular part of the conversation, and we talked about brand for a while. She said she thought the best way for me to put it was that I’m a bewitching author.

I liked it. So I put it in the back of my head.

Then, I was reading over the posts for The Nearsighted Owl’s How to Be a Fat Bitch ecourse. I’d signed up a while ago, but hadn’t kept up with the lessons. (The course, by the way, is excellent and if you’re fat and struggle with accepting that I highly recommend it. Actually, I just highly recommend it in general — if you’re not fat, or if you’re fat and think you’re cool with it. Because I thought I was cool with it, but the course has been a bit of an eye opener. I’ll be blogging about the assignments here as I do them, by the way.)

I realized I wanted to do more with my blog, and I decided that fat acceptance was something I should really start talking about. Especially after the events of last summer — when a bunch of trolls from the anus of the internet invaded my YouTube channel because I’d made a video where I was fat and unapologetic about it.

So from now on you can expect more posts on fat acceptance. That may mean just me posting Outfit Of The Day posts every once in a while, to show you with pictures how fucking fabulous I am. Not in spite of being fat; because of.

Also, I realized I talk about feminism. Duh.

After that it was just a matter of finding a third eff word to create the perfect tagline. I’m a fantasy author, so ‘the fantastic’ seemed right. For the title of the blog, I went with Bewitching, Enthralling, and Enticing, because I liked all those words together and also the initials spell BEE. Bees are awesome. I love bees.

In the coming weeks you’ll notice more changes to the blog and my persona all over the web. I’m working on getting new author photos done, and I’ll be re-doing my bio. Yay branding.

You’ll also probably notice Flattr buttons around the blog, and that I’ve removed the Project Wonderful ads. Reasons for that: I’m not getting enough traffic for Project Wonderful to continue listing my ad box, so until the blog does pick up in traffic I’m removing the ad box. Flattr is a way for you to show me you like my writing. No pressure. It’s just there if you use it already; if not, no biggie.

If you still really want to support me and you don’t have a Flattr account, buy my book. If you have it already, get your friends to buy it. Word of mouth advertising is the best way to help me out. Seriously.

(Also, reviews. Reviews are like candy to authors.)

If you’re reading this before March 27th, 2013, and you want to know the best way to help me out right now? Spread the word on my donation campaign or donate yourself. Mom and I are still trying to get enough funds together to help us on our way to Spring Mysteries Fest.

That’s it for now. See you again on Friday, when I post my Assignment #1 from the Fat Bitch Ecourse.

Stay classy, my enthralled minions.

-Kat

 

 

