The Finished Scarf!

Standard

I mentioned the other day I was working on a knitting project that involved Endless Stockinette. Well, I finally finished the bloody thing.

Word to the wise: just because a pattern is simple, does not mean it is easy or quick. I should have chosen something quicker to knit on deadline. As it is, I wanted to finish it yesterday; I finished it today. Oh well.

That said — it looks amazing, and I will likely do this pattern again, possibly as an actual shawl. (This one is a scarf, because I messed up about 2 rows into it the first time I did it and had to frog and start again. I decided to cast on 39 stitches instead of 79; this turned out to be a good thing, as I wouldn’t have had enough yarn for a 79 stitch shawl.) Whenever I do, however, I will make sure I have plenty of time to finish the thing. It’s the sort of project you can pick up whenever you have something else to do and you need to occupy your hands with something that requires little brain power; something that can be finished over a long period of time. It’s not a power-through-and-do-in-two-days project. Not for me, at least.

Here is picture one, of the scarf before I finished dropping the stitches. This is what the stockinette looked like with the multi-colored yarn. (I used Patons Classic Wool: Harvest.)

The almost-done scarf. Still need to drop stitches. #knittingI really liked the pattern the yarn created when knit into stockinette and was happy to see that pattern more or less remained when I dropped the stitches.

The finished scarf with dropped stitches. #knittingAnd a better look at the laddering the dropped stitches created:

A better look at the laddering. #knittingI’m pretty satisfied with this project. All I need to do is weave in the ends and it’ll be totally complete. There’s not really any need for blocking it.

Next: turning the remaining yarn from this project into a hexipuff or two. BEGIN THE HEXIPUFFALYPSE.

2 thoughts on “The Finished Scarf!

    • Thanks!

      A hexipuff is a hexagon-shaped puff, knit in the round, that one fills with fleece or scrap yarn or something. The pattern for it is from the Beekeeper’s Quilt by Tiny Owl Knits but I’m not following that pattern, I’m figuring out how to do it on my own (for various reasons).

      The idea is you knit a bunch of tiny hexipuffs and sew them together to make a quilt, and you can make them out of leftover yarn from finished projects (like using gauge swatches to make a patchwork blanket).

      Like

Comments are closed.